A Psalm of Storms and Silence (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Psalm of Storms and Silence Cover Image
$19.94
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


The highly anticipated second—and final—book in the immersive fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore that began with the New York Times bestselling A Song of Wraiths and Ruin, from author Roseanne A. Brown. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renée Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

Karina lost everything after a violent coup left her without her kingdom or her throne. Now the most wanted person in Sonande, her only hope of reclaiming what is rightfully hers lies in a divine power hidden in the long-lost city of her ancestors.

Meanwhile, the resurrection of Karina’s sister has spiraled the world into chaos, with disaster after disaster threatening the hard-won peace Malik has found as Farid’s apprentice. When they discover that Karina herself is the key to restoring balance, Malik must use his magic to lure her back to their side. But how do you regain the trust of someone you once tried to kill?

As the fabric holding Sonande together begins to tear, Malik and Karina once again find themselves torn between their duties and their desires. And when the fate of everything hangs on a single, horrifying choice, they each must decide what they value most—a power that could transform the world, or a love that could transform their lives.

About the Author


Roseanne A. Brown is an immigrant from the West African nation of Ghana and a graduate of the University of Maryland, where she completed the Jimenez-Porter Writers’ House program. Her work has been featured by Voice of America, among other outlets. A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is her debut novel. You can visit her online at roseanneabrown.com.

Praise For…


Praise for ASOWR: “An explosive, stunning fantasy debut… Brown’s world building is diverse and brimming with political intrigue, magic, and a burgeoning romance in the best of ways. Notably, Brown uses a lush fantasy backdrop to poignantly discuss real-world issues.”

— ALA Booklist (starred review)

“Revitalizing and exciting, Brown’s debut breathes life into ancient but still relevant folk stories.”

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative tantamount to that of Children of Blood and Bone.”

Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A supernatural love story inspired by West African folklore and dripping in political commentary and modern parallels.” 
— BookPage (starred review)

"This epic story is brimming with trickster spirits, rich culture, and an organically developing romance that make every twist and turn more interesting than the last….Brown’s novel will easily fit on shelves next to other great West African–inspired fantasies like Adeyemi’s Children of Blood and Bone and Ifueko’s Raybearer, and the ending makes it apparent that Malik and Karina’s story has (thankfully) only just begun."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

“Will leave readers wanting more.... This will appeal to those who love gentle male protagonists, strong female leads, and worlds filled with magic!”
— School Library Journal

“A rapturous love story with wickedly delicious magic and bloody stakes”  
— Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles series


“A refreshing, immersive debut that should be on every fantasy lover’s shelf, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin introduces a dazzling new talent in Roseanne A. Brown”
— Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

“With the heart-pounding action of Children of Blood and Bone, the magic of Spirited Away, and the twisty alluring intrigue of Game of Thrones, A Song of Wraiths and Ruin is a MASTERPIECE.”
— Brittney Morris, author of SLAY

"A dazzling debut, sparkling with delicious magic, romance, and intrigue. Brown weaves a story that will sink its teeth into you and won't let go, even after the last page."
— Swati Teerdhala, author of The Tiger at Midnight


"Set in a world of ancient magic, Brown spins a fantastical tale that is full of heart, adventure, and intrigue. Readers will delight in the lush details of a world and characters so vividly drawn that they leap off the page."
— Rena Barron, author of Kingdom of Souls


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062891525
ISBN-10: 0062891529
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: November 2nd, 2021
Pages: 560
Language: English