Skip to main content
Recipe for a Charmed Life

Recipe for a Charmed Life

Current price: $17.85
Publication Date: January 9th, 2024
Publisher:
Berkley
ISBN:
9780593440216
Pages:
384
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days

Description

“Heartfelt, heartwarming, joyful, and uplifting. You can't go wrong with a Rachel Linden book.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber

After a day of unrivaled disappointments, a promising young chef finds every bite of food suddenly tastes bitter. To save her career, she travels to the Pacific Northwest to reconnect with her estranged mom, and discovers a family legacy she never suspected in this delicious novel from the bestselling author of The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie.

American chef Georgia May Jackson has one goal—to run her own restaurant in Paris. After a grueling decade working in Parisian kitchens, she is on the cusp of success. But in one disastrous night, Georgia loses her sous-chef position, her French boyfriend, and her sense of taste! Renowned for her refined palate and daring use of bold flavors to create remarkable dishes, Georgia is devastated to discover her culinary gift has simply...vanished.

When she receives a surprising invitation from her estranged mother, Georgia flees to a small island near Seattle hoping the visit will help her regain her spark in the kitchen. As she tentatively reconnects with her mom, a free-spirited hippie eager to make up for her past mistakes, Georgia realizes there is something about the enigmatic island she just cannot piece together. Good luck charms start appearing in the oddest places. Her neighbor is a puzzlingly antagonistic (and annoyingly handsome) oyster farmer. And her mom keeps hinting at a mysterious family legacy.

With the clock ticking and time running out to win her dream job in Paris, Georgia begins to unravel some astonishing secrets that make her wonder if the true recipe for a charmed life might look—and taste—very different than she ever imagined.

About the Author

Rachel Linden is a novelist and international aid worker. Rachel lives with her family on an island in the Pacific Northwest, where she enjoys creating stories about hope, courage, and connection, with a hint of romance and a touch of whimsy.

Praise for Recipe for a Charmed Life

"Rachel Linden, like the characters she breathes into existence, has a special knack for creating a sense of wonder and a spark of joy. In her latest novel, she beautifully shows how people—and dreams—can change, often in the very best ways, and that finding passion just might be what this journey is all about. With humor, heart, and Linden’s signature pinch of magic, Recipe for a Charmed Life enchants. Linden has a permanent place on my list of auto-buy authors!
Kristy Woodson Harvey, New York Times Bestselling author of The Summer of Songbirds

“The perfect mix of delicious backdrop details, family secrets, and the quest for purpose and lasting love. Enchantingly delightful from first page to last.”
Susan Meissner, USA Today bestselling author of Only the Beautiful

"Recipe for a Charmed Life is actually a recipe for a magically marvelous read about expectations, second chances, and following your heart. Rachel Linden writes complicated and compelling characters that are as relatable as they are likeable. I enjoyed every bit of this delightful novel." 
—Jenn McKinlay, New York Times bestselling author of Summer Reading

"Charming locales, delicious food descriptions and magic…this tale has it all!"
Woman's World

"A magical story!"
FIRST for Women

“A delightful tale of food, family, and sweet romance. Channeling Julia Child, Linden's main character Georgia, a sous chef at a famed Parisian restaurant, follows her own path to reclaiming her purpose and passion, one delicious bite at a time. This story is an absolute feast!”
—Lauren K. Denton, USA Today bestselling author of The Hideaway and The Summer House

“Completely charming! Take a spunky heroine, add a swoon-worthy, orange-rubber-overall-wearing-oyster farmer, throw in a dash of the real-life messiness we all understand, and sprinkle a dusting of Linden’s signature magical realism, and you’ve got the recipe for a delightful story you can’t put down. I giggled, I sighed, and I got swept away from the first page in Paris to the final moment in the Pacific Northwest’s Friday Harbor.”
 —
Katherine Reay, bestselling author of A Shadow in Moscow

"Recipe for a Charmed Life satisfied my voracious appetite for delectable foodie novels. Linden’s exploration of what we lose when we can no longer taste the flavors we love is savory food for thought. This magical story offers the perfect recipe for a gratifying read."
—Kim Fay, national bestselling author of Love & Saffron

"With a dash of magic, a dollop of romance, a sprinkling of family secrets, and exquisite 'places I want to visit' settings, the ingredient list of Recipe for a Charmed Life adds up to a deliciously satisfying read."   
—Marie Bostwick, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Esme Cahill Fails Spectacularly

“Filled with suspense, magic, and mouth-watering descriptions of food, and set against a backdrop of a gorgeous island in the Pacific Northwest, Recipe for a Charmed Life brings us a spunky, gritty heroine who must try to reinvent herself after a devastating heartbreak. This beautiful story is a feast not to be missed!”
Maddie Dawson,
bestselling author of Snap Out of It

"A sweet, slow-burn novel that celebrates food, nature, family and a little touch of magic."
—Fresh Fiction

"With delicate touches of magical realism and an abiding sense of comfort, Linden offers a gentle hug of a story."
Library Journal

"This poignant story folds in themes of food and cooking with magical realism, grace, and a touch of romance."
Booklist

Praise for The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie

“Rachel Linden creates unforgettable characters that will work their way into your heart and a compulsively readable story that will keep the pages turning late into the night. Five huge stars!”
—Kristy Woodson Harvey, New York Times Bestselling author of The Wedding Veil

“A magical novel about second chances! Warm, witty, and wise, I loved it! Linden is a master at creating loveable characters! The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie is escapist reading at its best!”
—Jill Shalvis, New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Deal

“The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie
is an enchanting tale about the one thing we’ve all imagined: a magical second chance. Rachel Linden expertly mixes romance, mystery and family-drama into a delicious recipe of a story. When Lolly is given three lemon drops, each a chance to do one day in her life over again, she sets off on an adventure that is as charming as it is exciting. With her trademark warmth, Linden delivers a captivating story with a magical heartbeat at its center.”
—Patti Callahan, New York Times bestselling author of Surviving Savannah

“Magic, sweet treats, heartfelt charm… this dreamy tale has it all!”
—Woman's World


“Rachel Linden whips up an irresistible family drama oozing with charm and magic! The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie is a must read for anyone who longs for second chances. A gem of a novel that charmed me from get-go, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman.”
—Lori Nelson Spielman, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Crossed Sisters of Tuscany

“A delicious read, down to the very last lemon drop! Rachel Linden delivers a delightful escape, wonderful characters, and a magical experience that will leave readers hungry for her next book.”
—Julie Cantrell, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Perennials

The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie is a charming, heart-warming story about ‘what ifs’ and second chances. Readers will fall in love with the cast of delightful characters, and I defy anyone to read this book and not want to immediately eat lemon meringue pie. A beautiful, life-affirming read.”
—Freya Sampson, author of The Last Chance Library

“Simply Delicious! A delightful, page-turning story of first love, second chances, family ties, and mouth-watering pies! With a little magic, engaging characters, and complications we could almost call our own, The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie invites us to consider our own lost or forgotten dreams, and gives us the essential ingredients of hope and courage to pursue them.” 
—Katherine Reay, bestselling author of The Printed Letter Bookshop and The London House

The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie is a deliciously sweet tale about refusing to give up on your dreams and finding your bliss against all odds. Linden gives readers so much to enjoy—romance, family drama, and bittersweet second chances—all served up with the perfect dash of magic.”
—Kate Bromley, author of Here For the Drama and Talk Bookish to Me

“A heartwarming and uplifting tale about the power of choices and the hope that comes from second chances.”
Fabulous Washington