Skip to main content
The Predictable Heartbreaks of Imogen Finch: A Novel

The Predictable Heartbreaks of Imogen Finch: A Novel

Current price: $18.90
Publication Date: October 31st, 2023
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN:
9781250836526
Pages:
352
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days

Description

Jacqueline Firkins's The Predictable Heartbreaks of Imogen Finch is a beautiful story of friendship, and second chances at love.

Imogen Finch has just been through her seventeenth breakup. She saw it coming, so she's not as crushed as she might be, but with all seventeen of her exes leaving her for other partners, she's come to believe a prediction her well-intentioned and possibly clairvoyant mother made over twenty years ago: that Imogen would never come first at anything or to anyone. Is her love life failing due to a magical curse? Insufficient effort? Poor timing or personality mismatches? Everyone has opinions on the matter.

Imogen's ready to give up altogether. But when Eliot Swift, her secret high school crush, returns to their small coastal town after a decade of nomadic travels, Imogen has new motivation to try again. Eliot's full of encouragement. He suggests that her curse is not only imagined, it's easily breakable. All they need is one win--any win--and she can believe in love, and in herself again.

From trivia games to swimming races to corn-shucking contests, the pair sets out to snag Imogen her first first. But when victory proves more elusive than Eliot anticipated, and when his deep-seeded wanderlust compels him to depart for far away places, Imogen fears she's destined to remain in second place forever. Fortunately for them both, sometimes magic lingers in the most unexpected places. And love is far from predictable.

About the Author

Jacqueline Firkins is a writer, costume designer, and lover of beautiful things. She’s on the fulltime faculty in the Department of Theatre & Film at the University of British Columbia where she also takes any writing class they’ll let her into. When not obsessing about where to put the buttons or the commas, she can be found running by the ocean, eating excessive amounts of gluten, listening to earnest love songs, and pretending her dog understands every word she says. Her books include Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things and Marlowe Banks, Redesigned.

Praise for The Predictable Heartbreaks of Imogen Finch: A Novel

"Firkins’ novel is a special blend of humor, passion, and friendship, with a hint of a sixth sense that sets it apart from other contemporary romances . . . weaving moments of grief, healing, and understanding to make this friends-to-lovers tale gratifyingly worthwhile."
-Kirkus (starred review)

"Writing with a deliciously snarky wit, Firkins fashions a wonderfully whimsical ... sublimely sexy, heart-meltingly romantic love story that also deftly explores the many guises love can take in our lives."
-Booklist (starred review)

"The latest from Firkins is a winning blend of charm, pathos, and sex appeal that’s anything but predictable. Fans of Rachel Lynn Solomon and Emily Henry will come away with a new favorite."
-Library Journal

"A charming friends-to-lovers romance that runs surprisingly deep... Readers will fall in love with the emotional depth of this outing"
-Publishers Weekly

"Firkins delicately peels back the layers of her main couple to expose their raw emotions. Imogen and Eliot are multifaceted, fascinating personalities, and readers will cross their fingers for a happy ending. Love scenes of smoking passion and warm tenderness give this romance an extra sparkle."
-BookPage

"Jacqueline Firkins is an author to watch"
-Rachel Lynn Solomon

"The chemistry between Imogen and Eliot was off the charts in this estranged friends-to-lovers brilliance from Jacqueline Firkins. I was on the edge of my seat, reading into every unreadable look, living for every slight touch, wondering when they would finally tumble into each other so I could fall right off the cliff with them. The Predictable Heartbreaks of Imogen Finch was far from predictable and filled up my heart in all the best ways."
- Alicia Thompson, bestselling author of Love in the Time of Serial Killers

"The pining! The PINING!! This angsty, sweet second chance romance full of wanderlust, close friendships, and psychic predictions kept me turning pages late into the night. Eliot and Imogen’s growth–both together and individually–was beautiful and rewarding."
- Sarah Hogle, author of You Deserve Each Other

"A gorgeous, poignant romance that touches on the meaning of home and found family. Firkins elevates her game with this touching tale of second chances and first loves. One of the best romances I’ve read this year."
-Elizabeth Everett, The Secret Scientists of London Series

"A heartwarming love story with real, messy, relatable characters. I adored every second of it!"
-Kristyn Miller, author of Seven Rules for Breaking Hearts

The Predictable Heartbreaks of Imogen Finch weaves together family, friendship, and a second chance at first love. Firkins combines the fun entertainment of a rom-com with deeper themes and thoughtful writing. Heartfelt & genuine, this one will lift your heart and make you smile.
-Sophie Sullivan, author of Ten Rules for Faking It

"There are some books that stay with you long after you turn the last page. The Predictable Heartbreaks of Imogen Finch is one of them. This friends to lovers romance, filled with humor, heart, and so much pining, packs an emotional punch with the softest, most tender love story I've read in ages. I was captivated by Imogen and Eliot, desperate for them to find a way to be together, where they've always belonged."
-Meredith Schorr, author of As Seen on TV

"The Predictable Heartbreaks of Imogen Finch is a story about how to make room for more than one love of your life and the decision whether to fight against or settle into your fate. The writing? Phenomenal. Jacqueline Firkins' prose was eye candy. The setting combines the quaintness and grittiness of a true beachside small town. And the story itself? We're talking a teenage love triangle. We're talking summertime regrets. I loved this book, and I'll be thinking about it for a long time."
- Clare Gilmore, author of Love Interest

Brimming with humor, spiciness, and depth, The Predictable Heartbreaks of Imogen Finch had me rooting for Imogen from the very first page. The characters are perfectly imperfect, and I loved them. Another standout novel by Jacqueline Firkins, bravo!”
-Suzanne Park, author of So We Meet Again and The Do-Over