Author Event: Virginia Hartman - The Marsh Queen

We're so excited to host Virginia Hartman and celebrate her debut novel set in rural Florida, The Marsh Queen. Perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads SingTHE MARSH QUEEN follows a Washington, DC, artist as she faces her past and the secrets held in the waters of Florida’s lush swamps and wetlands. Full of richly drawn characters and vivid evocations of the endangered natural world, this is a powerful debut novel exploring what it means to be a daughter and how far we’ll go to protect the ones we love. Virginia Hartman lives just outside of Washington, DC, and behind-the-scenes research at the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History helped her capture the creatures and characters we meet in the book’s pages.

Event date: 
Saturday, December 3, 2022 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Event address: 
7 North Loudoun Street
Winchester, VA 22601
The Marsh Queen By Virginia Hartman Cover Image
$29.39
ISBN: 9781982171605
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - September 6th, 2022

For fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, this “marvelous debut” (Alice McDermott, National Book Award–winning author of The Ninth Hour) follows a Washington, DC, artist as she faces her past and the secrets held in the waters of Florida’s lush swamps and wetlands.

Loni Murrow is an accomplished bird artist at the Smithsonian who loves her job.